Slashdot: How Kooky Kaggle Contests Advance Data Science

Kaggle.com lets organizations and individuals post problems to its massive community of scientists. The prospect of crowdsourcing some of the world’s thorniest data conundrums is evidently a popular one: more than 82,000 people from 100 countries have signed on.

I have to say that I am a big fan (from afar) of Kaggle, mainly because of my training. One of my hardest but most fun classes when I was an engineering graduate student was a class in building mathematical models, which is what we called data science back in the day.

You can read my article, posted today to Slashdot/BI here, and see five of my favorite contests.

 

Leave a Reply

