ITExpertVoice.com review on ZInstall

If you are looking for in-place migration of Windows XP desktops, you could use
Laplink’s PC Mover. But if you want to preserve your Windows XP desktop and
switch back to it when you need to run an application that doesn’t work on
Windows 7, then you should consider Zinstall’s XP7. It creates an XP virtual
machine (VM) with all of your old applications and files just a mouse click
away. “Consider” is the operative word, however. The product idea is sound;
the implementation is lacking.

You can read the entire review here.

6 thoughts on “ITExpertVoice.com review on ZInstall

  1. Zinstall is a ripoff. The product did not work for me and the software vendor will not provide a refund of my money. Do not purchase the software. There are easy to use, free alternatives. VM player is free, you need to create a virtual hard drive via Acronis or Pargon or some similar product. Zinstall’s statement that they will not charge you unless there is a successful migration is a lie. The Satisfaction Guarantee is a lie.

    • DO not purchase this product. they do not honor there 100 percent guarantee and in fact they intentionally mislead the purchaser. I purchase this product from them online which came with no instructions. After installing on both the old computer and the new I ran the program as advertised on their web page. It took 9 hours for the program to install and when finished the new computer with Win 8.1 acknowledged the completion by stating it was completely successful. However after trying to open the product they requested that I run the diagnosis on both old computer and new. Great, I ran it on the new, which always upon start cited error code 262. However, when I went to run the diagnosis on the old computer it would not boot. What is their solution, to pay and addition 89 dollars to get the premium customer care whereby they would enter into my new computer and attempt to fix and the reinstall it remotely. The fact is, the product did not work for me and they still refuse to refund, saying it is my fault. I did not create the program they did but it is my fault. The customer support while having a 530 area code is definitely eastern indian, and there is a language barrier. I repeat do not buy this product. May they rot in hell!

  2. TOTAL RIPOFF!! Did not receive a licence key and requests to have a refund under their “guarantee” have not been answered. If you do purchase, make sure that you use your credit card so that you can have your credit card company do a chargeback if you get ripped off. Don’t pay with PayPal as they will not refund your purchase. I have also read about issues with graphics programs not functioning correctly after migrating.

  3. Zinstall WinWIn is a total ripoff.
    It does’nt work and they won’t give you a refund unless you fill out a bunch of paperwork and jump over whatever hurdles they want you to.
    DO NOT BUY !!
    And at $119 it for me was a TOTAL loss.
    Plus it screwed up applications I already had on my computer.
    Stay away from this software !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. This Zinstall XP7 software may work for you IF you have a Very Simple XP System using simple motherboard video and you have never put any add-in cards into your XP system. But, if you have an advanced video card or any other add-in cards, you will be very disappointed at having spent $149 (Feb 2014) for software that you expected to be able to handle the driver conversions necessary to allow your XP system to run in a Win 7 Virtual Machine because it does not. As soon as it finds something that it does not like, it barfs. You are expected to manually dumb down your XP system before attempting to do the transfer. And, even if you do get your XP system to run in the Zinstall Virtual Machine, you will be very disappointed to find out that there are no tools provided to allow you to maintain that Virtual Machine. Looking back, I was short on time, so I figured I would buy this over-priced solution (throw money at it rather than time). After several time consuming unsuccessful tries, I have abandoned it. Since this company is off-shore, I have simply chalked it up as a bad investment on my part and have moved on. Just like a stock that is too good to be true, this solution is too good to be true. STAY AWAY FROM IT.

    • DO not purchase this product. they do not honor there 100 percent guarantee and in fact they intentionally mislead the purchaser. I purchase this product from them online which came with no instructions. After installing on both the old computer and the new I ran the program as advertised on their web page. It took 9 hours for the program to install and when finished the new computer with Win 8.1 acknowledged the completion by stating it was completely successful. However after trying to open the product they requested that I run the diagnosis on both old computer and new. Great, I ran it on the new, which always upon start cited error code 262. However, when I went to run the diagnosis on the old computer it would not boot. What is their solution, to pay and addition 89 dollars to get the premium customer care whereby they would enter into my new computer and attempt to fix and the reinstall it remotely. The fact is, the product did not work for me and they still refuse to refund, saying it is my fault. I did not create the program they did but it is my fault. The customer support while having a 530 area code is definitely eastern indian, and there is a language barrier. I repeat do not buy this product. May they rot in hell!

Leave a Reply

