Internet Evolution: Turn File Sharing Off When You Travel, Puh-Leaze!

Has this happened to you? I was staying at a hotel where the WiFi creates one flat network, and, of course, there are numerous people who don’t know the first thing about basic security practice. Why do I know this? Because I could see several of them who had file sharing turned on for their PCs. They were listed by name in my Mac’s Finder (John Jones Computer, Sally Jenkins Computer, and so on), and it was a bit scary.

When I travel, I remember to turn off the file sharing setting on my PC for precisely this reason. It is a simple step, but a critical one. You can read my post today on Internet Evolution here along with the details on what I found on my hotel’s network.

Leave a Reply

